More shop equipment

After spending two days in the shop and a considerable amount of time on Ebay, the basic equipment nears completion. (Temporarily, of course, until I find a new, interesting tool on Ebay).

All in all, I am meanwhile the proud owner of fourteen wooden and one iron plane, and I spent a total of around 30€ for that. (Sorry, I have no photos at the moment, but I promise there will be some soon. You know that promise by now. ) The last bundle of planes was actually an accidental acquisition, I only bid for it because of that nice-looking smoothing plane. And with that nice smoothing plane came two moulding planes in an extremely rusty state (For now, I have no idea at all how I’m going to sharpen those), two shoulder planes in a similar state, a large jointer, made from oak, in a very poor state (but the iron looks great) and two unspectacular planes (I guess the proper name is jack plane, though I’m not sure if that name applies to wooden planes as well).

I think I’m going to convert one of the last mentioned planes into a scrub plane, as kindly suggested by Mr. Roubo-builder, and then my handplane-portfolio should be complete. For now – I am very tempted to build a Krenov-style smoothing plane some time, I have several suitable irons from old planes by now.

Last week, I spent some evenings with building a marking knife, for the blade, I used an old jigsaw blade, and for the handle a piece of beech, along with a brass ferrule. It is not quite as nice looking as the original inspiration, but still good enough. And I already tested it with laying out some dovetails – the resulting joint was definitely not limited by improper marking, but by a serious lack of sawing abilities…

So much for now, thanks for reading!

~ by Michael on February 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “More shop equipment”

  1. Looks like you’re making some progress here. My advice is to get some more wood and start messing around with it as much as you can!

    It sounds like you have a lot of planes on your hands now. You might want to start thinking about saws. When I first started, I got way too many planes. I didn’t understand just how much I would be using saws in my work. You don’t need many, just a couple that are actually tuned correctly. But I suppose that applies to almost any kind of tool.

  2. Hi Brian,

    thanks for your input! By now, I’ve started messing around with wood – see my new post!

Leave a Reply

 
